The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

Musings about feedback

Vlad

Basically, I'm upset about the level of feedback I'm seeing on this site. Personally, I'd much prefer if people spent more time than it takes to load the next topoic reading a poem before commenting. I don't want to single out anyone, but I will ask this of everyone - if you're not going to spend at least 5 minutes on any of my work, don't bother commenting. It's save us both some time and spare the general populace from posts like this. I don't know how many people agree with me on this issue, and quite bluntly, I don't care. If you only read it once, and want to say that you have no time, that's a different issue. Basically what this comes down to, is be respectful of people's work. As a writer I can easily tell how much time somebody puts into feedback, and sometimes I wish that I couldn't.

This was spawned from a look at the Banquet Room today; I was so dissapointed that I even saved a screenshot. I hope that this will be a wake up call for some people, and a pleasant reminder for others.

I'll rant more later, but I'm mixed between anger and dissapointment to say anything more.

Vlad, I think from time to time, everyone has had the same disgust with the level of feedback on the boards. I myself have complained about it a few times. People being quill-bearers still using responses like "OMG, I love this poem. That's so great. Keep up the good work." And it's usually not even done with proper english or punctuation. I've gotten about sick of feedback like that, or none at all... Unfortunately, it's things like this that make me not want to bother posting. If I wanted insight about my works, like I see a majority of people using, I'd just give the thing to my 10 yr old cousin and have her read it. I'll get the same response.

And with that, I'm going back to my corner.

Vlad and X-Sabre,