For whom do we play our parts,

to please what man?

Whom but those whose thoughts

Are but our dreams!

What life, to please them

whose life so like mine own,

That by breathing only

I might make them smile.

So, I attended a conference on gaming late last week. That explains about 2 days of inactivity. What have I been doing since then? Reflecting on my new life in which I am a part-time contract programmer for a game company, that's what! This is just a spare-time thing, and no money until such time as the game is finished and making the company money, but it's an amazing opportunity for me, who has wanted to make games for so long. I spent much of the day at the conference talking to this woman who's more or less in charge of this company, and then met with them this weekend where I heard more about the actual game that they're making, and am doing so again next weekend to find out what my exact role will be.

There's still a lot for me to do before that meeting, and yes I am making my life busier overall but I still intend to be around here a whole lot more than I was during that recent period where I'd disappear for weeks at a time. Bottom line for this next week is that there's a number of threads I need to post in and a couple of PMs that I need to give my attention to, and I'm just hoping that everyone understands if the going's a bit slow. After that, I'll have to play it by ear; I'm not sure how much time I'll need to devote to this, and I guess it's going to depend what's going on at the Pen at any given time too. I plan to keep going on my vignettes and my novel (albeit slowly) and I suspect that other solo writing projects (none of which I have ever completely given up on, by the way) will stay silent still longer, but that should surprise no one since I didn't quite get to the point where I had revived any of them yet.

Love you all and long live gaming!!

• 3 weeks later...