The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

"The curse of the Kiriati" by Patrick Durham

You asked me for a reply and I will do my best to make it as complete as possible. Before I start I would like to say that I’m no professional and can only say things the way I see and read them, and all below is only my personal opinion as a reader ;)

Chapter 1:

-I think there is too much information given in quite a dry fashion. The chapter almost reads as an enumeration of facts. Also to me the first chapter sets the feeling for the next couple of chapters and if the rest of the chapters are good it will of course wear off, but still better to try and spread out the facts and information in the story.

-“already ready” 8th paragraph sounds weird; I would probably try to rephrase this.

-The word momentum is used twice in a very short time

Chapter 2:

-Good and action packed, but halfway through I was wondering where Olira went. You describe Jerrick’s actions, but she is sort of pushed to the background.

-“aiming to attack him” (1st paragraph) is probably abundant. Without this the sentence would flow better.

-Too many “yet” constructions. I found the word “yet” 5 times, but if you do a word search you will probably find it even more often, be careful with using the same construction of sentence too many times, and too close to each other.

-“extended ahead of it” (5th paragraph) not sure how this would be done, but probably better to rephrase as it reads weirdly.

-“since they had seen that the had his sword no more” I would change this into “seeing that he no longer had his sword”

Chapter 3: