The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

Wherefore art thou, Falcon

Should I...  

12 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Alright, ladies and gentlemen. I'm having what appears to be a midlife crisis, but then again, I'm only 19, so hopefully I'll live longer than 38.

Right now, I'm debating with myself if I'm really in the right field. I'm currently studying network communications and management at DeVry University, which (according to my uncle, who used to hire from the california campus) has a reputation for putting out students with solid technical knowledge, although the stigma of 'technical university' still lingers over the campus.

A little information about my current school - it's got about 3000 students including the weekend and night students, and runs three semesters a term. Tuition is going to run me around $56,000 or so by the end of my bachelors, which is Network Communications Management. However, many of those students are either online students affiliated with our campus, night students, or weekend students. The word that describes it best is 'professional'. I can be quite professional.

However, I'm not happy, and I'm actually downright depressed. I work two jobs, about 11 hours a day, 13 if you include lunch break and travel time, and it's my break between semesters right now. If I'm going to transfer I'm going to have to do it soon, so I'm having to think about it quickly.

I grew up with two great goals in mind. Goal one was to earn money, and goal two was to be creative, and unfortunately as many of you here already know, those two don't always work together. I'm also a cautious man by nature, and that throws even more of a hex into the grid, so I'm pretty wary.

I wanted to study sociology or music, and I have 7 years of band under my belt as well as a strong urge to write. I love writing, I just don't have any time anymore.