The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

Wyvern's 'An Assassin's Retirement'

Wyvie,

I wanted to let you know that I've been (slowly but surely) keep up with your An Assassin's Retirement as it comes out, and I'm enjoying it thus far. :) You've written up a couple of interesting incidents from a young girl's life, focussing on the emotionalism of her situation. I'm looking forward to seeing how you bind it to the hints you've given about their culture and the Ashettu.

I do have two suggestions for you, though, that I think may help you with subsequent entries. Take them with a grain of salt, since I'm no expert, but they are points that struck me as I read...

First, given that the story is basically supported be emotionalism more than action at this point, I think you should consider pushing that aspect a little harder. You've got a great start at describing the child's feelings, stronger at some point than at others, but I feel like you could draw the reader in much more if you really dig into her emotions. Describe to us how she's feeling in more detail so that we can experience her emotions more than just 'see' the fact that she's crying or hurt. Tell us precisely how hard she struggled to make up her mind whether her desire to please her aunt and gain some hint of love there was more important than her own heart telling her it was wrong to stone those men. Let us know more about how she felt when the other boy saved her, or for that matter, when the cruel one suddenly struck her with a stone.

Hee. In other words, you're teasing me, darnitall! :) I want you to make me feel what she feels.

The second thing is of a slightly more technical nature, and really pertains only to your second post. Although you didn't in the first, you used a boatload of passive voice in the entry about her first kiss. For example, check out this paragraph: