The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

RE: Forgiven

Note - I’ve spoken to Peredhil about taking a closer look at this poem. The goal here is to make what I hope are some helpful suggestions not only about specific details of the piece, but also about the process of rewriting a work like this. Again, I must stress that while I am going to speak in what might be perceived as a formal and authoritative tone, I am not a professional poetry critic nor a professional poet, I’m just a reader who’s willing to share what he’s picked up along the way on the off chance it might be useful.

For those who would like to read Peredhil’s poem, it can be found here.

Peredhil, rather than start with my perceptions of the piece as a reader, let’s take a look first at what you, as the author, have to say about it. I’ve taken the liberty of excerpting some of your remarks from the original thread for this purpose:

This was a 'gut' post, I just kinda blurted it out and left it. Given that it is drawing responses, I feel I should actually try to tighten it up. I'm hesitant to edit the original poem because that WAS how I felt - at that precise moment. But I'm hoping to tighten it up, correct the meter, count the syllables, tweak the alliteration and tongue position transitions, etc, etc. To me, rereading, it seems as if the rhymes get weaker as they go, and the ending somewhat tapers off and lacks resolution - which I think I'll keep. Issues of this type often DO lack resolution and the closure so important to human minds...

OK - given this, let’s try and lay some groundwork.

From your statements about the piece the following points seem to be important:

1. It originated as a ‘gut’ piece, spontaneously written and posted in that spontaneity.

2. Given its origin, it bears something of the emotional weight of a particular moment, and this is something worth keeping.

3. There is a sense that wording and structure could be tightened up.