The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

Application

Guest Katiya Damodred

Guest Katiya Damodred

Katiya glides into the application room and takes a seat, flushing as she remembers that this was where she was supposed to go first, but did not. She removes a pen and diary from her belt pouch and places them on her lap, facing the Recruiter.

I suppose I should have come here first, but I have a tendency to be hasty...I acted like a fool, posting before applying. No wonder everyone ignored my posts! Flushes in embarrasment again, picking up the pen and bending over the diary to cover it, writing furiously.

You won't know me...but I found this place and thought it interesting, since I am an aspiring writer. As for a small sample of my work...I hope this will suffice.

The carriage door opened and the Lady poked her head out, looking around. She grimaced as freezing rain patted against her bare face; she hated rain. A thick blanket of clouds, obscured by night’s shadows, hid the stars that should have shone. Street lamps that had been lit for hours flickered fitfully in the icy autumn wind.

Sighing resignedly, she stepped down, drawing up the hood of the fur-lined cloak even as it fell about her thin shoulders. Her bodyguards (only two, she didn’t dare presume any more than that), moved in to flank her. They both wore plain gray cloaks embroidered with a crimson charging bull on the left breast. Their swords clanked mutedly against their legs as they walked.

The Lady paused at the foot of the steps, to gather herself. She smoothed the burgundy silk underneath the cloak and composed her face to regal smoothness. Then, just as if she were in her own palace, she ascended the stairs.