The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

"Addiction...Or is it?"

dottie

This is a piece a wrote as a challenge for myself. I am new at writing stories. This is a possible beginning of a possible story. Though it is not my comfort zone for writing I want feedback at a -4- whatever ya got. I would also like to know what is good, if anything. Other things I'd like to know would it grab your attention if I did continue with it.

Addiction. Or is it?

The young man sat at his desk, staring at the blinking cursor on the screen. He ran his hands over his face and rubbed his bloodshot eyes as he thought about the previous evening. It had been a rough one. Johnny’s girlfriend Jade had one of her episodes. He helped to calm her down as usual. When she fainted from the loss of blood, he took her to the ER and sat waiting for her to regain consciousness. When she did, he kissed her cheek and left for work. Late, again…

He was growing tired of her addiction. Her addiction manifests in the variety of self inflicted pain. The most prevalent form is cutting.

Jade had not intentionally hidden her addiction, but found it a difficult topic to bring up. Johnny caught her the first time in the bathroom when they were getting ready to visit her father. Visiting Jade’s parents had a powerful impact on her losing control of her situation. Johnny was lost in thought as his assistant brought him a coffee. Lisa plopped the black mug beside the overwhelming stack of files and smirked as she asked, “Missed your beauty sleep again, huh?”

I like the concept behind the story so far.