The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

The Serpent

NickCall

Thought I should probably put SOMETHING out there to show that I am a writer. I signed up, dropped a few comments, and have yet to finish my story I'm writing, so figured I'd just throw a poem out for you guys to enjoy:

The Serpent

She sits on your shoulder,

Hissing sweet words in your head

Playing your emotions--

Corruption manifested.

She hisses directions,

To you, her sweet pawn,

Changing your perception,

Of what is right and wrong.

She plays this sick game,

And with the peices she toys.

Each move calculated,

With frightening skill and poise.

Destroying the bonds,

Without sense of sorrow.

Ending these worlds

For her idea of tomorrow.

I'm sorry, dear pawn,

You've collected this fiend.

Now you're a sacrifice,

Instead of a queen.

I wish you well, in your planned life,

Though I imagine you'll have struggle and strife.

By The Serpent's dark tongue, this chaos create--

All for her gain, her attaining 'Checkmate'

nice rhyme scheme. Second stanza's a little inconsistent with the rest. Not sure if you're following a specific form here. It reminds me of a free verse version of a Ballad, but with something akin to an envoy from a ballade added in for fun.

The best advice I can give you is the oldest there is: Show don't tell.

Hmm, but you probably want more than that.