The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

Er der nogen som forstår mig?

Elvina

Wow, I understood that just barely. :P Swedish is similar, but as I said, I'm only learning danish, so reading the swedish looks odd and is harder for me to understand, though I get the gist of it.

I didn't know they used the letter "å" in swedish, I thought only the danes did. Strangely, swedish looks more german.

Anyway, thanks for replying. :) However, I think I should try not to confuse myself with what's swedish and what's danish at this point in time. ;)

Elvina

Familjen is merging with my EQ guild, so in chats I get a lovely mishmash of Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, and misspelled Swedish--and that's just the Scandinavian languages. No sympathy! \o_-/

Starlight told me once that Swedes could communicate with Germans without knowing German, they just. . .put together words which sounded right and seemed to get results.

Jag förstår dig, men som du säger så ska vi nog inte blanda språken ;)

I think you misunderstood me a little there love, unless you consider "communicate with Germans" to mean "spew some german-sounding nonsense at and hope they understand" ;)

(disclaimer: I know German personally, but the above seems to be what some people try to do to communicate with them... and on occasions it probably works too ;P)

Swedish, Norwegian and Danish are very close in writing, Swedes and Norwegians can usually understand each other just fine in spoken language also. And when it comes to spoken language, Danes will often understand Swedes but Swedes will consider Danish too "blurred". Not sure on the relation between Norwegian and Danish in that regard, but I *think* Norwegians have an easier time of understanding the danes.

As Tzim said, we know a few danes through EQ, if you want we could ask them :)

Hejsa!

Du må da meget gerne øve dit dansk med mig. Jeg er født og opvokset her og har dermed engelsk som andet sprog. :)