The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

Application from epinephrine

*Noticing the door ajar, epinephrine tries to slip quietly into the recruiter's office, but in his nervousness drops a potion from one of the recesses of his cloak.*

Oops, I hope that doesn't stain.., or turn into anything...

(Please consider the following story of a time in my past as an application to join your most excellent band of contributers.)

Mixture number 79

I knew as soon as I saw it that the only outcome could be pain.

My name is, well it is too hard to write in this language, so I adopt the name of the body’s own drugs, sometimes epinephrine, sometimes serotonin. But I am an alchemist and some would say even a good one. I studied many years at many great places of learning. I have read law, science and the arts. Indeed study is my passion, perhaps even my obsession. I seek out new people with new ideas and mix them in the cauldron of my brain to simmer. It was in one of these quests for new knowledge that I had learnt of an old master of mine in the east who claimed that he had discovered the secret of turning base metals into gold. And now he was dying painfully, with a mixture of old age and too many mercury fumes.

I travelled six weeks to find him, this humble purveyor of potions who claimed he had at last discovered the holy grail of alchemy. “A subtle change in the process” he claimed, made “all the difference”. But now, as he held this faintly glowing ochre solution in his hand there could be no mistaking. Master Mesata of Acacia had indeed turned sulphur and mercury in gold. There would be no living with him now.